Anchor classification


There are Certification Authorities such as Lloyds, ABS, and DNV who class and certify anchors for use in naval and commercial ships.

There are two classifications used; HHP (High Holding Power) and SHHP (Super High Holding Power) and these are noted on the relevant certification.

There are also two basic categories :

1. Temporary Anchors

Used aboard for ships.

2. Permanent Anchors

Used as moorings where the vessel such as a lightship or an object such as a buoy is to be permanently sited.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.